AGM – Sunday 13th November

Following the CTG AGM there are a few highlights to share with you.  We were blessed by the weather and enjoyed a sunny and clear morning of navigation training at Burton Dassett Country Park.  Thanks are definitely due to Claire Pollard for setting some testing grids and bearings to help us polish up our skills.

After wending our way back to the Wharf Inn, we enjoyed delicious roast dinners and generous desserts followed by a talk from Daniel Nolan about his adventures and experiences in Segovia at the World Championships earlier this year.  Seeing the maps and the aerial photos of the tickets and checkpoints was definitely illuminating for those of us who do not ride at level 4!

We swiftly moved on to the “business” part of the day and the AGM ran smoothly.  Everyone present expressed thanks to Anna Weston, who has decided to step down as our chairman after 5 years (but will remain a member of the committee).  Anna first came up with the idea of starting the Club and with her enthusiasm and dedication soon gathered like-minded people together to bring CTG into existence.  Four members of the committee retired by rotation but all wished to stand again and were duly re-elected, and Bev Abbott was welcomed as a new committee member.  Members also received reports from the Chairman and Treasurer about the status of the club at the end of the 2015-16 year, both of which reflected the excellent position that Central TREC Group is in going forward.

The other main part of the day was the presentation of awards for 2015-16.  The CTG Summer League awards for 2015 were presented, and the full list of winners will be available on our Results page very shortly.

In additions, the following trophies were awarded:

Katy Memorial Award (awarded to the best horse belonging to a CTG member, as voted by the members) – Thomas, owned and ridden by Julie Allsop

Phantom Flyer Memorial Award (awarded to the CTG member who achieved the slowest MA canter at a CTG event in the 2015 summer season) – Casey, owned and ridden by Mary Weston

Chairman’s Award (awarded by the Chairman to the CTG member in their opinion most deserving of it) – Claire Pollard, without whom the CTG Calendar page would be significantly less busy!

During the committee meeting following the AGM Sarah Wynn was unanimously elected our new chairman.  Trish and Helen remain in their existing roles as Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

Our committee now comprises:

Chairman – Sarah Wynn (re-elected to the committee after retiring by rotation).

Treasurer – Helen Martin

Secretary – Trish Donnelly (re-elected to the committee after retiring by rotation)

Membership Secretary – Mary Weston

Merchandising & Clothing Co-ordinator – Sally Elliott

Webmaster – Siobhan Mills (re-elected to the committee after retiring by rotation)

Facebook Co-ordinator – Sarah Wynn

Publicity Officer – Julia Ironside

Training Officer – Claire Pollard

Committee members – Neill Elliott, Sarah Pollard, Alice Pollard, Anna Weston (re-elected to the committee after retiring by rotation), Bev Abbott (newly elected).